Memories that make an impact

This past weekend I was blessed to have the opportunity to go to a leadership conference in Canada that was much needed. I’ve been able to go to many other camps besides this one so I honestly wasn’t expecting much. I quickly learned a lot more than expected over the course of three days. I’ve been overwhelmed lately. Stress is still very existent in my life. I needed time away from everything. Being away from my phone was AMAZING. I felt free. I believe I heard one theme throughout  the whole weekend that stuck out to me. Be intentional with every action. What’s your purpose behind service?

Here are some of the comments that were made that I’ll never forget:

  • people need you
  • life is not fair
  • you’re here not for things but memories.
  • you don’t have to be different to be noticed, you just have to be you.
  • HAVE PASSION
  • don’t be afraid to tell your story
  • every story is worth sharing
  • you don’t need recognition
  • people won’t remember what you said, but how you made them feel

My heart has been softened. I don’t really know what else to say. Those phrases have connected with me in very important ways.

I have grown up in a very sheltered life which is such a blessing to me. I do believe I have missed out on a bit of diversity however from this, but this camp broadened my views. I met special people from Peru, Bolivia, Italy, France, Denmark and Canada. I liked hearing about how their life is like back home. I can’t wait to get involved in Rotaract when I’m older, but for now, I am thinking more than ever to go on a mission trip. I don’t know how, but I do believe I’m being called to do it in my life so if He wants me to do it, there will be a path very soon. I’m motivated to serve more than ever.

Leave a Reply

